Do I need a Concealed Carry Permit?
Kansas & Missouri both allow Consitutional Carry. Meaning that you no longer need a Concealed Carry Permit to carry in the States of Kansas or Missouri as long as you are not legally prohibited from posessing a Firearm.
There are several benefits to having a Concealed Carry Permit, and I highly recommend taking the training course whether you decide to get a Permit or not. The Concealed Carry Course covers Self Defense Laws and Liabilities of owning and/or using a firearm and provides an in-depth understanding of being a safe and responsible firearm owner.
A Kansas Concealed Carry Permit provides reciprocity with 39 States in addition to Kansas and a Missouri Permit provides reciprocity with 36 States in addition to Missouri.
Having a State-issued Concealed Carry Permit is also an exemption to the Federal Gun Free School Zone Act which prohibits having a loaded or unsecured firearm within 1000 feet of School Property.
Having a Concealed Carry Permit is also beneficial when purchasing Firearms and dealing with Law Enforcement.
What order do you recommend taking the training courses?
I recommend the Basic Handgun class for anyone that has not recently trained with a Certified Instructor and may need some guidance in proper safety procedures, stance and grip.
I offer a Ladies Intermediate Handgun class that provides the opportunity to work on developing proper draw techniques (from a variety of holster types/positions), loading/unloading, clearing malfunctions and discussion on conflict avoidance, cover vs concealment and marksmanship vs defensive shooting, in a classroom environment.
I strongly encourage anyone that may possibly use a gun in self defense attend the Concealed Carry & Home Defense Fundamentals Course. This class provides an in-depth understanding of Self Defense Laws, liability and safety planning techniques. Whether you want to get your State issued permit or not, this class is about being a responsible, informed gun owner.
Training in Defensive Shooting Fundamentals is a necesary and often overlooked part of any training program. These courses teach how to safely and efficiently draw from your holster, develop an understanding of Intuitive Defensive Shooting vs Precision Shooting and work with your bodies natural reactions to help you become familiar with your individual capabilities. In these classes we work from different shooting positions, one-hand and support hand shooting and shooting from behind cover.
I also provide several other beneficial classes such as the "Top Concealed Carry Handguns" class, "Self Defense Law Seminars", "Understanding Self Defense Insurance", "Personal Safety" Seminars and other special events and training opportunities.
How do I know what gun is right for me?
We discuss several considerations and recommendations in selecting a Self Defense Handgun in the Basic Classes. I also hold a "Top Concealed Carry Handguns" class once a month that provides the opportunity to shoot and compare several highly recommended handgun models to help with your selection process.
Do I have to have my own gun before coming to class?
Not at all, we discuss how to choose the right gun for you in the Basic Classes and I hold a "Top Concealed Carry Handguns" class once a month to provide the opportunity to shoot and compare several highly recommended handgun models and help with your selection process.
I can provide a rental gun and ammo for an additional $10.
How much are Range Fees?
Most of my classes are held at The Bullet Hole in Overland Park, KS. The Bullet Hole requires an annual membership of $25 and any additional visits are only $11/day.
There are no range fees for Ladies on Wednesdays (all day).
Do you offer Private Lessons?
Yes, I do. The cost is $50/hour and I occassionally list openings on my schedule, but feel free to send me an email and we can work out a time.
Do you offer kids classes?
Yes. I plan a couple kids classes/events throughout the year and can also teach kids in Private Lessons.
I forgot what to do with the certificate from my Concealed Carry Class.
Fill out the State Concealed Carry Permit Application (in your class packet or online) and take it along with your signed Certificate of Training and checkbook to your local Sheriff's Office.
What is the Strength in Sisterhood Ladies group?
Strength in Sisterhood meetings are the 1st Wednesday of each month from 6-8:00pm.
We meet at 6231 Robinson for an hour lesson on something Personal Safety related, then enjoy FREE Range time with the Ladies to practice our shooting skills and compare notes with other like-minded ladies.
Membership is only $60/year and includes a monthly Personal Safety Lesson, range time with the ladies group and a 20% Discount on most NAV classes.
The 2019 schedule is listed under the Strength in Sisterhood tab